Taking a Gamble

At a meeting this week we had a speaker talk about poker. He talked about how successful people in life have tons of poker chip and thus are will to take lots of risks because they have poker chips to spare. Prom queen – you get 10,000 chips. New Job- 20,000 chips. Some people have had bad thing after bad thing take most of their poker chips and they simply are not willing to risk chips for just anything. Failed a class -5,000 chips, lose your home -50,000 chips.

I began thinking about my life and what risks I take and which ones I say no I can’t afford to lose that many chips if things went badly. When I was younger I feel as though I had a lot more chips than I have know. Life has taken its toll on me. And I am a much harder person not willing to just let it all hang out. I find that the older I get the harder it is to be willing to let any chips go. And this makes me sad.

I want to return to that carefree go where the wind blows girl. Saying what I thought, dressing how I wanted. Not giving a damn what anyone anywhere thought of me. I know I have posted similar blogs to this, but what can I say this is on my mind everyday. I day dream of standing up in the middle of a big crowd and yelling I’m here! This is me! And I’m damn proud!

If you had one chip left to your name- what would you do? who would you be?

 

9 thoughts on “Taking a Gamble

  1. “When I was younger I feel as though I had a lot more chips than I have know. Life has taken its toll on me. And I am a much harder person not willing to just let it all hang out. I find that the older I get the harder it is to be willing to let any chips go. And this makes me sad.” I feel the same way! I, too, need to continue and try to take some risks.

    Your fan,
    Michael

  2. To answer your question….I’d be me, win, lose, or draw. I heard someone say once that the most successful people have failed many times. I’ve failed more than a few times, but looking back, I don’t think I would have changed anything. Our experiences make us what we are. And, some of the things I initially thought I failed at have turned around and been good things. So…..fear of failure may be the thing that prevents us from being successful.

  3. If I had one more chip left to my name I’d cash it in for a million chips. Does that work? I don’t know if genie rules apply in this scenario 🙂 Seriously though, I think I’d move to Europe.

Leave a comment