You guessed it, I am in fact Taylor Swift’s secret muse.

There are so many songs out there written just for me. I find this fascinating as I have never met any of these artists, yet here they are writing songs about me. Talk about crazy.

She is winking at me during the MTV awards

She is winking at me during the MTV awards

For example Taylor Swift, and no I did not date her. She is way too tall for me, obviously. But she wrote a song about me called Trouble.

I knew you were trouble when you walked in
So shame on me now
Flew me to places i’d never been
So you put me down oh
I knew you were trouble when you walked in

I am trouble, and I do take my women to places they have never been, how did you know?

Then there is the beach boys. I am fairly certain almost all their songs are about me. Sure, they were all written before I was born, but that is a small insignificant detail.

And the Southern girls with the way they talk
They knock me out when I’m down there
The Midwest farmer’s daughters
They all make you feel alright

You see I lived all over the country, so I got to be all the girls in the song. Totally explains my dreamboat status.

Then there is the ever popular and amazing Ani Difranco. Her music just speaks to my soul. So many of her songs ring true to my life. We are even such kindred spirits that she does not live far from me. I know she values her privacy, so I pretend I don’t live near her.

squint your eyes and look closer
I’m not between you and your ambition
I am a poster girl with no poster
I am thirty-two flavors and then some
And I’m beyond your peripheral vision
So you might want to turn your head
Cause someday you might find you’re starving
and eating all of the words you said
Sure, people may say that the point of music is that is supposed to feel as though they are writing the words of your life you could not write on your own. But, really I think they just say that so everyone else doesn’t feel bad. Because sometimes these songs are just for me. 🙂
P.S. I have made it to over 2000 followers!! Thank you to each and every one of you, especially those that take the time to read and comment every week. I am truly grateful you enjoy my silly musings.

24 thoughts on “You guessed it, I am in fact Taylor Swift’s secret muse.

  1. You live near Ani DiFranco? That’s really cool. I saw her at the Edmonton Folk Festival in the early 90s and she was a treat. I’ll never forget her visceral performance of Blood in the Boardroom.

    Cheers, great post.

      • Well, she wouldn’t be a kid if she didn’t do annoying things. I just see it as payback for wearing out my Debbie Gibson cassette tape as a kid. And it really could be worse. At least it is fairly appropriate listening material for a 7 year old. Still, I try to encourage the oldies station when driving in the car…which, by the way, plays 80’s songs now. That is more depressing than listening to Taylor Swift 675 times a day.

  2. That is the best Ani Difranco song in the whole world. I’ve loved it and felt like it was saying things I couldn’t say since I was little girl. Made me love music, that lady did. Excellent choice.

  3. Holy shit, girl! I Kdont even have 2,000 crumbs on my floor. Okay, maybe that’s a bit of a fib. My girls love TS. She’s super fun to sing loudly to in the car. My sons don’t agree so much.

Leave a comment